DUI Defense

Florida DUI Limits.

The State of Florida has strict laws for drunk driving. When you drink and drive in Florida, you risk your freedom, finances and your future. An individual in the State of Florida may not operate any vehicle where the individual has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or in excess thereof. For individuals with a commercial driver's license, the BAC limit is 0.04%, and for those who have not reached their 21st birthday, the limit is 0.02%.

What are the consequences of a DUI?

Jail time may be up to six months for a first time conviction in Florida. In the event a minor was a passenger at the time a citation was received, or if the BAC was 0.15% or in excess thereof, jail time may be up to nine months in length. Vehicles may be impounded. Fines will range from $500.00 up to $1,000.00. The range for fines is doubled where a minor was present in the vehicle or the BAC was 0.15%. A six months license suspension will occur. Fifty hours of community service will be required unless an individual pays $10 an hour for each hour of community service. A first time conviction for DUI also results in the requirement that DUI school be completed.

For a second DUI offense, jail time up to nine months may result. If a minor was present as a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the citation, or the BAC was 0.15% or more, jail time may be up to 12 months. Should the second DUI occur within five years of the first, mandatory jail time for a period of 10 days will occur. Of those 10 days, a minimum of 48 hours must be served consecutively. The vehicle being driven may be impounded for a period up to 30 days except where it is demonstrated the family would be completely without a vehicle. Fines for a second DUI range from $1,000.00 up to $2,000.00. The fines are doubled where a minor was on board, or the BAC was 0.15% or higher. If the second DUI occurred within five years of the first, a suspension of driver's license will occur for a minimum of five years. Hardship circumstances may result in a license being reinstated after 12 months. DUI school is also required.

A third DUI in Florida may expose the defendant to jail time up to one year in length, 30 days is mandatory with a minimum of 48 hours being consecutive. Where the family of the defendant has other vehicles available, 90 days impoundment of the vehicle will be required. Fines range from $2,000.00 up to $5,000.00. Similar to the above, where a minor was on board, or the BAC was 0.15% or more, fines are doubled. A ten-year suspension of the defendant's driver's license is required. However, where a hardship can be demonstrated, it is possible that a defendant's driver's license may be reissued after a two-year period of time.

Where a fourth DUI occurs, jail time can result not exceeding five years. Florida Law classifies a fourth DUI defendant as a habitual offender. A fine cannot be less than $2,000.00. In a fourth DUI circumstance, the defendant will not be able thereafter to obtain a license, with no exception allowing for hardship reinstatement.

Free Consultation.

Defense of a DUI is a complicated matter requiring an attorney with DUI knowledge and experience. Peeler Law Firm is available for immediate discussion and consideration of your DUI charge at your convenience. Stan Peeler will meet with you personally and has extensive experience in DUI cases in his 30 years of practicing law. Please call Peeler Law Firm at 850-432-7705 for an appointment.